IRCTC Maharaja Train
Maharajas' Express Blog
  • September 11, 2023

Unveiling India’s Royal Heritage: Maharajas’ Express Route Highlights

India, an incredible land of diverse cultures, ancient traditions, and rich history, has always been associated with royalty. The opulent palaces, majestic forts, and grandeur of the past are vividly brought to life through the journey on the Maharajas’ Express train route. This luxury train, one-of-its kind in the world, will take you on a remarkable voyage through some of the most iconic destinations in India, offering a glimpse into the world of maharajas and their lavish lifestyle. Let’s explore the Maharajas’ Express train route, its highlights, and the unforgettable experiences it offers!

The Maharajas’ Express Train Route

The Maharajas’ Express is not just a mode of transportation; it’s an experience in itself. This royal train operates various routes, each designed to showcase the cultural, historical, and architectural marvels of India. The four itineraries offered by the train include “The Indian Splendor,” “Heritage of India,” “The Indian Panorama” and “Treasures of India,” each providing a unique perspective of India’s rich heritage.

Route Highlights:


The train covers the historic city of Agra, home to the iconic Taj Mahal. Passengers have the opportunity to witness the breathtaking beauty of this architectural masterpiece, built by Shah Jahan as a testament to his love for his queen.


Known as the Pink City, Jaipur is another stop on the route. This city is famous for its stunning palaces and forts, including the Hotel Rambagh Palace, Amber Fort, and City Palace, all showcasing India’s architectural splendor at its finest.

Ranthambore National Park:

Nature enthusiasts will be delighted as the train takes a detour to Ranthambore National Park. It’s a chance to spot tigers, leopards, and other wildlife in their natural habitat while embarking on an exciting jungle safari!

Fatehpur Sikri:

Part of two itineraries, Fatehpur Sikri, an abandoned Mughal city that offers a glimpse into the architecture and grandeur from the times gone by.


The spiritual city of Varanasi on the banks of the Ganges River is another highlight. Passengers can witness the mesmerizing Ganga Aarti and explore the ancient temples and narrow lanes.


The journey takes a cultural turn as it heads to Khajuraho, known for its exquisite temples adorned with intricate sculptures, providing a unique perspective on Indian art and culture.

Bikaner and Jodhpur:

The royal journey also covers the charming cities of Bikaner and Jodhpur, where travelers can explore the grand palaces and forts that stand as a testament to Rajasthan’s regal history.


The “City of Lakes,” Udaipur, is another destination, known for its stunning palaces like the City Palace and Lake Palace, both reflecting the beauty of man-made structures against the backdrop of nature’s bounty.

The Maharajas’ Express offers 4 different routes, each with its own train itinerary. Travelers can choose the route that aligns with their interests and the duration of their journey, ensuring a tailored experience that suits their preferences. Depending on which of the cities mentioned above you wish to explore, you can book a journey to your liking.

The Maharajas’ Express train brings an unparalleled opportunity to passengers to immerse themselves in the grandeur and opulence of a bygone era. With its carefully curated itineraries, luxurious amenities, and unmatched service, this train journey is truly fit for maharajas and maharanis of the modern age, making it a must-experience adventure for anyone looking to uncover the royal splendors of India. To know more about the Maharajas express route map, Maharajas express train number and route and other details, visit the official website on

Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation Ltd

(A Govt. of India Enterprise)

B-148, 11th Floor, Statesman House, Barakhamba Road, New Delhi, Delhi 110001

© 2017 The Maharajas' Express World's Leading Luxury Train