Maharajas' Express Blog

Maharaja Express Wins World Travel Award for 5th Year in a Row

Maharajas’ Express is regarded as one of the most luxurious train of world and wthin a very short span of time the train has several accolades to its name. Recently, the Maharajas’ Express has bagged coveted ‘The World Travel Award 2016’ in ‘World’s Leading Luxury Train’ category, for 5th consecutive year.

The Maharajas’ Express was voted as the ‘World’s Leading Luxury Train’ at the 23rd World Travel Awards 2016, in a glittery ceremony which was held at the luxurious Sun SiyamIruFushi Hotel,Noonu Atoll, Rebublic of Maldives on December 02, 2016. The award recognizes the train that offers unmatched comfort in royal style to its esteemed guests.

The other nominees featuring in the World’s Leading Luxury Train category were the Andean Explorer, the Deccan Odyssey, the Belmond Hiram Bingham, the Royal Canadian Pacific, the Blue Train, the Eastern & Oriental Express, the Rocky Mountaineer- GoldLeaf Service, the Golden Chariot, the TrenCrucero and the Venice Simplon Orient-Express.

Owned and operated by Indian Railways Catering and Tourist Corporation (IRCTC), this Indian glory was flagged off in 2010. In just 7 years of its operation, the Maharajas’ Express has grabbed this famed award from 2012.

Another award the Maharajas’ Express bestowed upon in 2016 is Seven Star Luxury Hospitality and Life Style Awards at anextravagant event organized at Marbella in Spain for 2nd year in a row. According to the ritual, SignumVirtutis – the seal of excellence – was also presented to the Maharajas’ Express by the Seven Star Luxury Hospitality and Lifestyle Awards.

The Maharajas’ Express currently operates on 6 pan-Indian circuits – with ‘Jewels of India’ being the latest itinerary – across some of the most alluring regions in India and covering some of the most sought-after tourist destinations across India. Traveling in the Maharajas’ Express gives you an opportunity to relish the princely journey through the bygone era of the erstwhile Maharaja.