IRCTC Maharaja Train
Maharajas' Express Blog
  • October 30, 2013



“Right in the heart of India is located Khajuraho, which houses the Khajuraho group of monuments. The name Khajuraho, is derived from the Sanskrit words kharjura date palm and haka “”one who carries””. The Khajuraho Group of Monuments has been listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, and is considered to be one of the “”seven wonders”” of India.
The temples at Khajuraho have been divided into 3 geographical divisions: western, eastern and southern.
The Khajuraho temples are made of sandstone. These were not built using mortar and the stones were put together with mortise and tenon joints and they were held in place by gravity. Some of the temples to visit at khajuraho are Dulhadeo Temple, Kandariya Mahadeva temple, Chaturbuj Temple & Lakshman temple among others.
Today, the Khajuraho temple complex offers a modern experience for the visitors with a professional light and sound show every evening which covers the history, philosophy and the art of sculpting of these temples. The Khajuraho Dance Festival, held every year in the first week of February, is an opportunity for visitors to experience various classical Indian dances set against the backdrop of the Chitragupta or Vishwanath Temples.
Khajuraho depicts the rich arts and culture within the state and in India since ancient times.”

Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation Ltd

(A Govt. of India Enterprise)

B-148, 11th Floor, Statesman House, Barakhamba Road, New Delhi, Delhi 110001

© 2017 The Maharajas' Express World's Leading Luxury Train